top of page
Le 200e anniversaire d'Anita Garibaldi
Le 200e anniversaire d'Anita Garibaldi

dim. 29 août

|

Musée Garibaldi Meucci

Le 200e anniversaire d'Anita Garibaldi

Venez profiter de la célébration du 200e anniversaire de la bien-aimée Ana Maria de Jesus Ribeiro da Silva, alias Anita Garibaldi "L'héroïne des deux mondes", un jour plus tôt!

Registration is Closed
See other events

Time & Location

29 août 2021, 13:00 – 15:00

Musée Garibaldi Meucci, 420 Tompkins Ave., Staten Island, NY 10305, États-Unis

About the Event

Le Musée Garibaldi Meucci a le plaisir d'organiser une fête d'anniversaire pour la bien-aimée Ana Maria de Jesus Ribeiro da Silva, alias Anita Garibaldi "L'héroïne des deux mondes", un jour plus tôt !

Visitez la nouvelle salle Garibaldi du musée, dédiée à Anita et au rôle spécial qu'elle a joué non seulement dans la vie de son mari, Giuseppe Garibaldi, mais aussi dans le rôle qu'elle a joué dans l'unification de l'Italie. Les invités ne manqueront pas de profiter de la vaste pelouse du musée pour une discussion de style pique-nique (apportez donc autant de déjeuner fait maison que vous le souhaitez) pour en savoir plus sur la vie d'Anita Garibaldi et sur la façon dont son esprit indomptable lui a permis de se battre dans des guerres à ses côtés mari et a conduit sa famille à l'abri dans le chaos.

De plus, artiste et militante, Anna Lise Jensen animera la discussion sur sa propre exposition « Action poétique » que l'on peut voir virtuellement ici : https://vimeo.com/496116153 ,  ainsi que le Panorama Garibaldi accessible ici : https://library.brown.edu/cds/garibaldi/panoramaHTML5/panorama_scroll.php .

Dans le cadre de l'activisme communautaire en cours de Jensen, il y aura également une discussion sur le thème du soutien à la mobilité verte, en particulier sous la forme d'une piste cyclable/piétonne sur le pont Verrazzano. La pratique artistique de Jensen intègre la pratique sociale et l'organisation communautaire afin d'aborder la politique et le pouvoir localement.

L'artiste Anthony Santella montrera également son bateau sculpté à la main et sera disponible pour parler aux adultes et aux enfants de la sculpture sur bois ! Si vous souhaitez voir plus de son travail, veuillez le suivre sur https://www.instagram.com/santella.anthony/?hl=en .

La mission du musée Garibaldi Meucci est de collecter, détenir, posséder, entretenir, préserver et exposer des objets et artefacts historiques liés à la vie du général Giuseppe Garibaldi et Antonio Meucci ; promouvoir une compréhension de l'héritage italo-américain et une image positive des italo-américains; mener une programmation éducative, culturelle et artistique conçue pour éliminer les préjugés ethniques et raciaux pour un public diversifié et croissant.

* Le GMM applique strictement les directives mises à jour du CDC. Une preuve de vaccination est requise pour entrer dans le musée.

Share This Event

bottom of page

top of page
The 200th Birthday of Anita Garibaldi
The 200th Birthday of Anita Garibaldi

Sun, Aug 29

|

Garibaldi Meucci Museum

The 200th Birthday of Anita Garibaldi

Come enjoy the 200th birthday celebration of the beloved Ana Maria de Jesus Ribeiro da Silva, aka Anita Garibaldi "The Heroine of Two Worlds", a day early!

Registration is Closed
See other events

Time & Location

Aug 29, 2021, 1:00 PM – 3:00 PM

Garibaldi Meucci Museum, 420 Tompkins Ave., Staten Island, NY 10305, USA

About the Event

The Garibaldi Meucci Museum is pleased to be hosting a birthday celebration for the beloved Ana Maria de Jesus Ribeiro da Silva, aka Anita Garibaldi "The Heroine of Two Worlds", a day early!

Visit the museum's newly curated Garibaldi Room featuring a special dedication to Anita and the special role she had not only in the life of her husband, Giuseppe Garibaldi, but also the role she had in the unification of Italy. Guests will be sure to enjoy the museum’s vast lawn for a picnic styled discussion (so bring as much homemade lunch as you’d like) to learn more about the life of Anita Garibaldi and how her indomitable spirit allowed her to fight in wars alongside her husband and led her family to safety amongst the chaos.

In addition, artist and activist , Anna Lise Jensen will lead discussion on her own exhibit “Poetic Action” which can be seen virtually here: https://vimeo.com/496116153,  as well as the Garibaldi Panorama which can be accessed here: https://library.brown.edu/cds/garibaldi/panoramaHTML5/panorama_scroll.php .

As part of Jensen’s ongoing community activism, there will also be discussion on the topic of supporting green mobility, specifically in the form of a bike/pedestrian lane on the Verrazzano Bridge . Jensen’s artistic practice integrates social practice and communal organizing in order to addresses politics and power locally.

Artist Anthony Santella will also be showing his hand carved boat and will be available to talk to adults & kids alike about wood carving! If you’d like to see more of his work please give him a follow at https://www.instagram.com/santella.anthony/?hl=en .

The mission of the Garibaldi Meucci Museum is to collect, hold, own, maintain, preserve, and exhibit historical objects and artifacts relating to the lives of General Giuseppe Garibaldi and Antonio Meucci; to promote an understanding of Italian-American heritage and a positive image of Italian-Americans; to conduct educational, cultural, and artistic programming designed to eliminate ethnic and racial prejudice for a diverse and growing audience.

*The GMM strictly enforces the updated CDC guidelines. Proof of vaccination is required for entry into the museum.

Share This Event

bottom of page